What We Do

Everyone benefits when parents and families are involved in their children’s education. Not only do students do better in school, but parents feel more connected, as well. The Office of Family and Community Engagement (FACE) offers programs and services for students to improve their academic achievement. We offer classes and trainings for parents and families to help them become academic partners for their children and to become more self-sufficient. We offer opportunities for the community to share their voice and partner to create stronger schools.

Our work aligns with the Denver Plan goals:
• Goal #1: Great Schools in Every Neighborhood
• Goal #2: School Readiness
• Goal #3: Ready for College & Career
• Goal #4: Support the Whole Child
• Goal #5: Close the Opportunity Gap

Faces of FACE

Our team provides high quality services using culturally competent practices. We provide services to families, schools, and community members who need assistance accessing school and District resources, addressing concerns, and building skills to be strong partners in their students’ education. We have Spanish-speaking staff and have access to multilingual interpretation services.

Alece Montez
Associate Chief Officer of Family and Community Engagement
(720) 423-2016 | ALECE_MONTEZ@dpsk12.org

Vacant
Executive Assistant to the Chief Officer of Family and Community Engagement

Family Constituency Services

Our team provides high quality services using culturally competent practices. We provide services to parents, families, schools, and community members who need assistance accessing school and District resources, addressing concerns, and building skills to be strong partners in their students’ education. We have Spanish-speaking staff and have access to multilingual interpretation services.

Meet Our Team

Theresa Becker
Executive Director, Family Constituency Services and Family Empowerment Team
(720) 423-3054 | Face@dpsk12.org

Elizabeth Battle, MSW
Manager, Family Constituency Services
(720) 423-3054 | Face@dpsk12.org

Anna Banuelos
Tier I Constituency Support Specialist
(720) 423-3054 | Face@dpsk12.org

Katherine Diaz
Family Constituency Services Specialist
(720) 423-3054 | Face@dpsk12.org

Melissa Arreola-Pena
Family Constituency Service Specialist
(720) 423-3054 | Face@dpsk12.org

Jessica Davie
Family Constituency Service Specialist
(720) 423-3054 | Face@dpsk12.org

Celia Reyes-Martinez
Family Constituency Service Specialist
(720) 423-3054 | Face@dpsk12.org

Derrick Washington
Family Constituency Service Specialist
(720) 423-3054 | Face@dpsk12.org

Family Empowerment

Dedicated to developing educated, engaged, and empowered parents and staff who are partners in creating great schools in every neighborhood where Every Child Succeeds.

Meet Our Team

Theresa Becker
Executive Director, Constituency Services and Family Empowerment Team
(720) 423-2282 | Theresa_Becker@dpsk12.org

Iesha Mitchell
Senior Manager | Family Empowerment and Academic Partnerships
(720) 423-2593 | Iesha_Mitchell@dpsk12.org

Brenda Vasquez
Manager | Volunteer Services
(720) 423-3002 | Brenda_Vasquez@dpsk12.org

Cody Ostenson
Coordinator, Academic Partnership and Family Empowerment
(720) 423-2593 | Cody_Ostenson@dpsk12.org

Pending
Lead Specialist, Family Empowerment and Title 1 Specialist
(720) 423-xxx |

Thinh Nguyen
Title 1 Outreach and Engagement Operations Coordinator
(720) 423-3127 | Thinh_Nguyen@dpsk12.org

School Based Services

Provides opportunities for students, parents and families by partnering with community organizations. Through these partnerships, increase academic achievement for students and support families through a two generation approach.

Meet Our Team

Theresa Becker

Executive Director, Family and Community Engagement

(720) 423-2282 | Theresa_Becker@dpsk12.org

 

Lindsay McNicholas

Director, Family and Youth Services

(720) 423-2294 | Lindsay_McNicholas@dpsk12.org

 

Arys Subiadur

Sr. Manager, Youth Self Sufficiency Services

(720) 423-2264 | Arys_Subiadur@dpsk12.org

 

Matt Dodge

Manager, Youth Self Sufficiency Services

(720) 423-2295 | Matthew_Dodge@dpsk12.org

 

Ambar Suero

Manager, Adult Self Sufficiency Services, FNE FACE CENTER

(720) 424-2960 | Ambar_Suero@dpsk12.org

 

Lindsey Hazel

Manager, Adult Self Sufficiency Services, SW FACE CENTER

(720) 424-2970 | Lindsey_Hazel@dpsk12.org

 

Jessica Brandhorst

Lead Program Specialist, Data

(720) 423-2522 | Jessica_Brandhorst@dpsk12.org

 

Trevon Brandhorst

Lead Program Specialist, Youth Self Sufficiency Services

(720) 423-2569 | Trevon_Brandhorst@dpsk12.org

 

Paula Keenan

Lead Social Worker, FACE Family Connect

(720) 423-2089 | Paula_Keenan@dpsk12.org

Multicultural Outreach

Offers families information related to education with weekly streaming shows in 10 different languages called 'EDUCA' & 'New American Neighbors,' a quarterly bilingual news magazine, TV programs on channels 12, 14, 22, and 50, and outreach at community events.

Meet our Team

Salvador Carrera
Director, EDUCA Multicultural Outreach
(720) 423-2030 | SALVADOR_CARRERA@dpsk12.org

Julieta Quinonez
Manager, Multicultural Outreach
(720) 423-2029 | JULIETA_QUINONEZ@dpsk12.org

Roberto Gaytan
Lead Producer | EDUCA
(720) 423-2028 | ROBERTO_GAYTAN@dpsk12.org

Nelvis Alvarez
Family Empowerment and ELA Program Specialist
(720) 423-3135 | NELVIS_ALVAREZ@dpsk12.org

German Gonzalez
Community Outreach Specialist
(720) 423-2498 | GERMAN_GONZALEZ@dpsk12.org

Van Trinh Tran
Asian Community Outreach Specialist
(720) 423- 5052 | Vantrinh_Tran@dpsk12.org

Community Engagement Strategy and Advocacy

Meet Our Team

Shontel M. Lewis

Associate Director, Community Engagement Strategy and Advocacy

720.423.3196 | shontel_lewis@dpsk12.org

 

Eloy Castro

Regional Community Engagement Partner

720.423.3177 | eloy_casto@dpsk12.org

 

David Portee

Regional Community Engagement Partner

720.423.2301 | david_portee@dpsk12.org

 

(Pending)

Regional Community Engagement Partner

xxx.xxx.xxxx | xxxxxx@dpsk12.org

 

(Pending)

Regional Community Engagement Partner

xxx.xxx.xxxx | xxxxxx@dpsk12.org

 

(Pending)

Regional Community Engagement Partner

xxx.xxx.xxxx | xxxxxx@dpsk12.org

 

 

(Pending)

Regional Community Engagement Coordinator

xxx.xxx.xxxx | xxxxxx@dpsk12.org

 

 

Sign Up