Year Zero Redesign

DPS is committed to ensuring that every child succeeds. One strategy we’re employing to better serve all students is a “Year Zero Redesign”, through which four schools engaging deeply with their school communities to design a school that truly meets the needs of students and families in that community. Year Zero Redesign schools receive additional funding and support during the 2015-16 school year and Year Zero principals  are leading having conversations with their school communities to determine a long term vision and mission. Through a Community Design Team process, each school community works together to create a new plan for their own school that best meets the unique needs of their students. They will be receiving additional funding to support this plan and will be looking at staff, curriculum and culture to ensure we have the best program for their students.

2015-16 School Year:

There are four schools that are a part of the Year 0 cohort: Goldrick Elementary, Harrington Elementary, Schmitt Elementary and Valverde Elementary.

Goldrick Elementary

Upcoming Community Meetings:
Saturday, August 22: 9am-12pm @ Athmar Library
Wednesday, September 2: 3:30-5pm @ Goldrick
Monday, September 14: 3:30-5pm @ Goldrick
Monday, September 28: 3:30-5pm @ Goldrick
Saturday, October 3: 9am-12pm @ Goldrick
Monday, October 5: 3:30-5pm @ Goldrick
Monday, October 12: 3:30-5pm @ Goldrick
Monday, October 19: 3:30-5pm @ Goldrick
Monday, November 9: 3:30-5pm @ Goldrick
Monday, November 16: 3:30-5pm @ Goldrick


Harrington Elementary

Upcoming Community Meetings:
Monday, August 10: 9-10:15am @ Harrington
Wednesday, August 26: 3:15-4:30pm @ Harrington
Monday, August 31: 3:15 – 5:30pm @ Harrington
Monday, Sept 14: 3:15 – 4:30pm @ Harrington
Monday, October 28: 3:15-4:30pm @ Harrington
Monday, October 5: 3:15-4:30pm @ Harrington
Thursday, October 8: 3:15-4:30pm @ Harrington
Monday, October 12: 3:15-4:30pm @ Harrington


Schmitt Elementary

Upcoming Community Meetings:
Saturday, August 29 – 9–3p.m. @ Pascual Ledoux ECE Center
Thursday, September 10th – 5:30-6:30p.m. @ Schmitt
Thursday, September 17th – 5:30-6:30p.m. @ Schmitt
Thursday, September 24th – 5:30-6:30p.m. @ Schmitt
Thursday, October 1st – 5:30-6:30p.m. @ Schmitt
Tuesday, October 6th – 5:30-6:30p.m. @ Schmitt
Thursday, October 8th – 5:30-6:30p.m. @ Schmitt
Thursday, October 15th – 5:30-6:30p.m. @ Schmitt
Thursday, October 22nd – 5:30-6:30p.m. @ Schmitt
Thursday, October 29th – 5:30-6:30p.m. @ Schmitt
Wednesday, November 4rd – 5:30-6:30p.m. @ Schmitt
Thursday, November 5th – 5:30-6:30p.m. @ Schmitt
Thursday, November 12th – 5:30-6:30p.m. @ Schmitt

Valverde Elementary

Upcoming Community Meetings:
Wednesday, September 2 – 4-7pm @ Valverde
Wednesday, September 9 – 4-7pm @ Valverde
Wednesday, September 16 – 4-7pm @ Valverde
Wednesday, September 23 – 4-7pm @ Valverde
Wednesday, September 30 – 4-7pm @ Valverde
Wednesday, October 7 – 4-7pm @ Valverde

Sign Up